Vestiges of the City

Click to discover the cultural heritage of Vaucouleurs, the archictectural heritage, the Museum of Jehanne d'Arc


The Castle Chapel

Built in a romano-ogival style, in 1234, on demand of Béatrix de Bourgogne and in accordance with the will of Simon III de Joinville, his deceased husband. It remains only the original crypt today. Sold as a national property during the revolution in 1789, after a lot of plunders and fires, it was demolished in 1791 and rebuilt between 1924 and 1929 in a neo-Gothic style, according to the dimensions of the former chapel. Inaugurated in 1929, it was blessed by Cardinal Lépicier (a native of Vaucouleurs) in 1930. The central stained-glass window represents Joan listening to the voices. Those on the lower parts represent the epic tale of Joan, and on the upper part, the saints are depicted. On the high altar, there is a statue of Joan created by Maxime Réal del Sarte in 1945. Originally ordered by the ambassador of the United States for Domrémy, the city refused it and the statue was placed at Vaucouleurs.

 

Our Lady of the Vaults

In the castle chapel, you can see an original crypt and the 14th-century statue of Our Lady of the Vaults (Virgin with Child) in front of which Joan meditated when she was in Vaucouleurs. This stone statue of the 14th century was mutilated several times, in particular in 1544 by the troops of Charles Quint, who took the child of its arms.

 

The Porte de France

From the surrounding wall of the castle of Baudricourt, it is one of the four doors which led towards the Kingdom of France. It is the one that Joan of Arc passed through to join Chinon on February 23rd, 1429. The first castle was built in 1026 thanks to Etienne de Vaux; founder of the house of Joinville. It was destroyed thirty years later by Duke of Lorraine and Count of Bar, and rebuilt several years later by the son of its founder. Thereafter, by order of Louis VI, called “le Gros”, the city was surrounded with ramparts. At that time, they contained 17 towers (among which today, only two, now private properties, remain and are still visible). At his accession, Charles V attached Vaucouleurs and its court to the French Kingdom on July 4th, 1365. Then he appointed governors, the second one being Robert of Baudricourt. It is in 1366 that Charles V and Du Guesclin met Jean, Duke of Lorraine, to seal the gathering of the City of Vaucouleurs with the French Kingdom. On this occasion, a big banquet was given to the castle of Gombervaux. Later, Charles VII was forced to withdraw beyond the Loire River, after the defeat of the battle of Azincourt in 1415. In 1420, Henri V of England is recognized to administrate the Kingdom, thanks to the Treaty of Troyes. This is when Joan of Arc intervened. In 1465, Louis XI gave up the city and the court of the castle to Duke of Lorraine. In 1688, ramparts collapsed and doors, in the way of the traffic are demolished. Their stones are used to build new houses. The Porte de France would have been reconstructed between 1733 and 1734.

 

The Tours Pagis

This set bears the name of the bishop at the origin of the project. Between 1890 and 1900, while Domrémy was raising a basilica to the glory of Joan of Arc, the bishop of Meuse decided to build in Vaucouleurs a national monument to the glory of the heroine. But this too impressive and expensive project, cannot succeed and will remain unfinished. 


Click to discover the cultural heritage of Vaucouleurs, the archictectural heritage, the Museum of Jehanne d'Arc